The award is given to an individual(s) for their ability to overcome obstacles and serve as an inspiration to others. The recipients used perseverance, dedication and determination to overcome a life-altering event. The inaugural award was given in 2002-03.

Year Recipient School
2015-16 Geneseo Men's Ice Hockey team and Geneseo Women's Basketball team Geneseo
2014-15 Robert J. Rosa
Lea Sobieraski
New Paltz
2013-14 Josh Best Fredonia
2012-13 None  
2011-12 None  
2010-11 Michael Connors Oswego
  Rosie Shrout Potsdam
  Jake Simmons Buffalo State
 2009-10 Dan Brown Geneseo
  Steve Loesch Oneonta
  Ashley Napear Plattsburgh
2008-09 N/A - 50th Anniversary of SUNYAC  
2007-08 Michele Carron Brockport
  Sandra Hollander Buffalo State
  Nick Johnson New Paltz
  Lindsay Trifiletti New Paltz
  Robert W. Burke Oswego
  Brian Mehan Plattsburgh
2006-07 Todd Sheridan Brockport
  Jason Januskiewiczy Fredonia
2005-06 Stephanie Zweig Plattsburgh
2004-05 Colleen Bruley New Paltz
  John Salamone and Jeannine Muoio-Salamone Oswego
2003-04 Kathryn MacCrate New Paltz
2002-03 Steve Falcone Brockport
  Curtis Bachek Buffalo State
  Anne Sarkissian Oswego
  Mike Kelly SUNYIT