SUNYAC announces baseball yearly awards

SUNYAC announces baseball yearly awards

CORTLAND, N.Y. - The State University of New York Athletic Conference (SUNYAC) announces the 2019 men's baseball top individuals and All-Conference teams voted on by the conference coaches.

Bob Wallace Player of the Year - Scott Giordano, Cortland 

Junior outfielder Giordano batted .333 this year leading the conference overall in extra base hits with 19 doubles, five triples and three homeruns. He finished the year with 54 total hits, 50 runs, 39 RBIs and 21 walks to lead the Red Dragons to an undefeated conference regular season. A notable conference weekend for Giordano came against New Paltz where he finished the series going 6-10 with three doubles and seven RBIs in a sweep. 




Co-Don Axtell Pitcher of the Year - Matt Valin, Cortland 

The senior from LaFargeville pitched 57 innings this year and posted an 8-0 overall record for Cortland while leading the conference with a 1.74 ERA. He also leads the SUNYAC in strikeouts per nine innings with a 12.63. Valin had a tremendous preformance in the conference tournament where he threw a complete game shutout in 10 innings, only giving up three hits while compiling 17 strikeouts. 





 Co-Don Axtell Pitcher of the Year Award -Nick DeMarco, Oswego

Senior DeMarco led the Lakers with a 6-2 overall record and a 2.70 ERA in 60 innings pitched. With the third highest innings pitched and third lowest amount of earned runs given up, he won some key games for Oswego and helped the Lakers win their third straight SUNYAC title. One of his top preformances came against Oneonta this past weekend in the conference tournament where he pitched eight innings and gave up two runs on six hits with eight strikeouts to propell Oswego into the championship round. DeMarco and the Lakers earned an automatic bid into the NCAA Regionals.




Clark V. Whited Rookie of the Year - Paul Tammaro, Oswego 

The New City native takes home the Clark V. Whited Rookie of the Year award. The freshman started 34 games overall for the Lakers notching 32 hits and 12 RBIs with a .269 batting average. Tammaro showed very impressive discipline at the plate in his rookie campaign by striking out only 13 times in 119 at bats. A notable game for Tammaro happened this weekend at the conference tournament where he hit his first career home run in the championship game to help the Lakers take home the title. 





Walter Nitardy Coach of the Year - Joe Brown, Cortland 

Cortland head coach Joe Brown earns his seventh Coach of the Year award. After starting the season 7-8-1 with a tough non-conference schedule, Brown and the Red Dragons went on to go 22-1 heading into the SUNYAC tournament. Brown has led Cortland to an impressive 714-185-3 (.793) combined record, 19 NCAA Division III tournament appearances, 10 World Series showings and 15 SUNYAC titles in his first 19 seasons. After falling short in the conference tournament, Cortland will wait to see if they can secure an At-Large bid into the NCAA Regional round. 

 2019 SUNYAC Baseball All-Conference Teams (VIEW PDF)

First Team        
Name Position School Year Hometown/High School
Zack Durant P Cortland Jr. Verona / Vernon-Verona-Sherrill
Matt Valin P Cortland Sr. LaFargeville / LaFargeville
Luke Kuczewski P Fredonia Sr. Orchard Park / Orchard Park
Nick DeMarco P Oswego Sr. Latham / Shaker
James Varian C Cortland So. Hopewell Junction / Trinity-Pawling
Lukas Olsson C Oswego Jr. Bayport / Bayport-Blue Point
Wyatt Myers 1B Cortland Jr. Chittenango / Chittenango
Marcos Perivolaris 2B Cortland Sr. Mattituck / Mattituck
Ryan Enos 3B Oswego So. Oriskany / Oriskany
Dan Schweitzer SS Cortland Sr. Poughquag / Arlington
Colin BeVard OF Cortland Jr. Syracuse / West Genesee
Scott Giordano OF Cortland Jr. Croton-on-Hudson / Croton-Harmon
Mike Dellicarri OF Oswego Sr. Congers / Clarkstown North
Dan Hobbs RP Cortland Jr. Saratoga Springs / Saratoga Springs
Ryan Fay RP Oneonta Sr. Carmel / Carmel
Dean Stalzer DH New Paltz So. Shoreham / Shoreham Wading River 
Nick Chilson DH Oswego Jr. Johnson City / Johnson City
Matthew McGee U New Paltz Jr. Monroe / Saint Leo University 
Second Team        
Name Position School Year Hometown/High School
Robert Ottaviano Oneonta Sr. Nanuet / Albertus Magnus
Brian Nolan P Oswego Jr. Syracuse / Corcoran
Dominic Lamonica 1B Oneonta Jr. Stony Brook / Ward Melville
Rocco Leone 2B Oswego Jr. Liverpool / Liverpool
Lou Miceli 3B Brockport Sr.  New Rochelle / New Rochelle
Stephen Bryant SS Plattsburgh Jr. Center Moriches / Center Moriches 
Tom Kretzler OF Brockport Jr. Albany / Colonie
Russ Mistretta OF Fredonia Jr. Buffalo / Canisius
Brandon Nicholson OF Oswego Sr. Orchard Park / Orchard Park
Aaron Cook U Brockport Jr.  Queensbury / Queensbury