New Paltz wins 2018 SUNYAC field hockey title

New Paltz wins 2018 SUNYAC field hockey title

NEW PALTZ, N.Y. - New Paltz (12-7) won its fifth overall State University of New York Athletic Conference (SUNYAC) field hockey championship Saturday, all under current head coach Shanna Szablinski. With the win, New Paltz earned an automatic berth into the 2018 NCAA DIII field hockey tournament.

The Hawks defeated Cortland (13-6), 2-1, on their home turf. The Red Dragons scored first as Jess Gibaldi scored off a rebound from the goalie. New Paltz scored the next two from Kaitlyn Gunter unassisted and Jackie Kanapes assisted by Gunter to take the victory.

The Hawks goalie Ryan Dowling had seven saves and was named the Tournament MVP. Cortland's goalie Kailynne Reinoehl had nine saves for the Red Dragons and was named to the All-Tournament team.

2018 Field Hockey Elite 20

The SUNYAC Elite 20, an award modeled after the NCAA ELITE 90 program, recognizes the true essence of the student-athlete by honoring the individual who has reached the pinnacle of competition at the conference championship level in his or her sport, while also achieving the highest academic standard among his or her peers. This year's field hockey winner is Cortland senior Shannon McGuinness who holds a 3.92 grade point average in speech and hearing science. McGuinness was also honored last season.

2018 SUNYAC Field Hockey All-Tournament Team

Julia Kim - Geneseo
Jordan Penkitis - Geneseo
Danell Jones - Oneonta
Allyson Wells - Oneonta
Jess Gibaldi - Cortland
Jessica Welsh - Cortland
Kailynne Reinoehl - Cortland
Maggie Cottrell - New Paltz
Kaitlyn Gunter - New Paltz
Jessica Ascencao - New Paltz
MVP: Ryan Dowling - New Paltz