SUNYAC and Buffalo State to host 2020 NCAA Ice Hockey Championship; Plattsburgh to host 2022

SUNYAC and Buffalo State to host 2020 NCAA Ice Hockey Championship; Plattsburgh to host 2022

The NCAA has selected more than 600 host sites for preliminary rounds and finals of predetermined championships in Divisions I, II and III to be held from 2017-18 through 2021-22. Included on the list is Buffalo State, the State University of New York Athletic Conference (SUNYAC) and Plattsburgh as announced by the NCAA on Tuesday.   

The SUNYAC  and Buffalo State will jointly host the 2020 NCAA Men's Ice Hockey Championship at the HarborCenter in Buffalo, March 27-28.

"Buffalo State is thrilled to be a part of this venture to be able to showcase the best of Division III men's hockey in a world class facility in downtown Buffalo," said Buffalo State director of athletics Jerry Boyes. "This is also a great opportunity to show off our thriving region to the Division III hockey community."

Pegula Sports and Entertainment played a role in helping to bring this championship to Buffalo and having this tournament at the HarborCenter is what they had in mind during construction of the complex.

"Officials from the NCAA observed the HarborCenter facilities during a site survey in January and immediately stated their desire to bring this event to Buffalo," said Michael Gilbert, Buffalo Sabres vice president of administration and HarborCenter's general manager. "That's what the Pegulas had in mind when constructing this complex, and yesterday's announcement is further proof of their magnificent effect on our community. Together with Buffalo State and the SUNYAC, our staff is eager to put on another first-class event that will draw more visitors to our great city."

The city of Buffalo looks forward to displaying recent improvements to the area and sharing its culture with fans.

"We couldn't be more thrilled to have the country's best Division III hockey teams converge on Buffalo in 2020," Visit Buffalo Niagara and Buffalo Niagara Sports Commission President and CEO Patrick Kaler said. "When the teams and visitors arrive, they will find a dramatically revitalized city and region featuring new and improved athletic facilities, a transformed waterfront and an influx of new hotels, restaurants and other amenities. This championship will provide a big boost to our hotels and restaurants during a traditionally quieter time of year and further cement our reputation as a premier city for college and amateur athletics." 

Plattsburgh will serve as host for the 2022 NCAA Men's Ice Hockey Championship at the Olympic Center Herb Brooks Arena in Lake Placid, March 25-26.

"This is certainly great news and a true testament from the NCAA as to the confidence they have in our department and SUNY Plattsburgh to continue to provide a true championship experience for the student-athletes," said Plattsburgh State director of athletics Mike Howard. "We are excited to once again be working in collaboration with ORDA. They run exceptional events at all levels, and Lake Placid certainly provides a world-class venue."

The SUNYAC is pleased to have the opportunity to be a part of the national championship experience for the student-athletes and to have two insitutions involved in this capcity.

"As one of the premier men's ice hockey conferences in Division III, the SUNYAC is excited to partner with Buffalo State in bringing the NCAA Division III Men's Ice Hockey Frozen Four to Western New York and is thrilled that Plattsburgh will have the opportunity to serve as the host institution for the national championship in Lake Placid," said SUNYAC Commissioner Tom Di Camillo. "Ice hockey is part of the fabric and culture of New York State and each year the SUNYAC fields some of the best Division III programs in the country. This will give the SUNYAC an opportunity to showcase its programs and the conference as a whole."

Each year the SUNYAC is well represented at the NCAA Men's Ice Hockey Championship. Since 1987 the SUNYAC brought home four national titles with the most recent in 2007 (Oswego). Plattsburgh won the title in 1987, 1992 and 2001. The conference had eight additional appearances in the finals with Oswego finishing second four times, Plattsburgh three times and Fredonia once. The championship has been played in Plattsburgh three times (1986, 1992, and 1998).

The NCAA received more than 3,000 bid submissions from NCAA member schools, conferences, sports commissions and cities vying to host predetermined rounds for 84 of the NCAA's 90 championships. A total of 613 sites were awarded for this cycle.

Criteria for selecting the host sites included creating what will be an exceptional experience for the student-athletes, along with adherence to NCAA bid specifications. Specifications can include, but are not limited to, providing optimal facilities; ease of travel to the location and ample lodging; and adherence to NCAA principles, which include providing an atmosphere that is safe and respects the dignity of all attendees.

Complete list of NCAA championship sites: Division I | Division II | Division III | NC