Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Geneseo takes 2019 SUNYAC ice hockey crown

Geneseo takes 2019 SUNYAC ice hockey crown

GENESEO, N.Y. - Geneseo defeated Oswego, 4-3, to win its second-straight and sixth overall State University of New York Athletic Conference (SUNYAC) men's ice hockey championship, Saturday night at the Ira S. Wilson Arena in Geneseo. With the win, the Knights earned an automatic berth into the 2019 NCAA DIII men's ice hockey tournament.

Oswego scored first with a goal from Jody Sullivan assisted by Joey Scorpio, 4:19 into the first period, but Geneseo came back with two goals. The first one came from Mitch Ferguson on a power play assisted by Will Campion and Andrew Romano in the first period (15:39). The second goal for the Knights came from Chris Perna, assisted by Carson Kelley and Anthony Marra, 6:21 into the second period. Geneseo increased their lead on another power play with a goal from Tyson Empey, assisted by Romano and Mitch Ferguson. Before the second period ended, Oswego made it 3-2 with a goal from Josh Zizek, assisted by Michael Gillespie and Josh Nenadal.

In the third period, the Lakers tied it up at three when Travis Broughman scored off an assist from Tanner Spink and Max Novick. With just over five minutes left in the game, Ferguson scored the game-winning goal for the Knights to earn the Tournament MVP title. The final goal was assisted by Empey and David Szmyd.

Goaltender Devin McDonald finished with 16 saves for the Knights while David Richer had 26 saves for the Lakers.

With a 3.86 GPA, Oswego's Cedric Hansen was recognized Saturday night as the SUNYAC men's ice hockey Elite 20 honoree. The award modeled after the NCAA Elite 90 program, recognizes the true essence of the student-athlete by honoring the individual who has reached the pinnacle of competition at the conference championship level in his or her sport, while also achieving the highest academic standard among his or her peers.

2019 Men's Ice Hockey All-Tournament Team

Josh Zizek, Oswego
Devin Campbell, Oswego
Tyson Empey, Geneseo
Andrew Romano, Geneseo
Devin McDonald, Geneseo
MVP -Mitch Ferguson, Geneseo

Review and Preview
July 8, 2019 Review and Preview
Happy July 4th
July 4, 2019 Happy July 4th
Q&A: Hannah Marafioti
April 25, 2019 Q&A: Hannah Marafioti
Q&A: Rich Samuels
April 16, 2019 Q&A: Rich Samuels
Q&A: Cayla O'Connor
April 8, 2019 Q&A: Cayla O'Connor
Q&A: Katie Quagliana
April 4, 2019 Q&A: Katie Quagliana
Q&A: Bobby Emerson
March 28, 2019 Q&A: Bobby Emerson
Q&A: Stephen Panno
March 7, 2019 Q&A: Stephen Panno
2019 Winter Brackets Set
February 16, 2019 2019 Winter Brackets Set
Q&A: Rachael Windhausen
February 14, 2019 Q&A: Rachael Windhausen
Q&A: Andrew Husted
January 31, 2019 Q&A: Andrew Husted
Q&A: Taylor Durnin
January 17, 2019 Q&A: Taylor Durnin
Q&A: Todd Schauss
January 10, 2019 Q&A: Todd Schauss
Q&A: Alexa Amalbert
January 3, 2019 Q&A: Alexa Amalbert
Happy New Year!
December 28, 2018 Happy New Year!
Q&A Shannon McGuire
December 20, 2018 Q&A Shannon McGuire
Q&A: Brandon Amthor
December 13, 2018 Q&A: Brandon Amthor
Q&A: Chelsea Angulas
December 6, 2018 Q&A: Chelsea Angulas
Q&A: Conlan Keenan
November 20, 2018 Q&A: Conlan Keenan
Q&A: Princella McCullough
November 13, 2018 Q&A: Princella McCullough
Q&A: Kelsey Devine
November 1, 2018 Q&A: Kelsey Devine
Q&A: Kelsey Devine
November 1, 2018 Q&A: Kelsey Devine
Q&A: Brian Terra
October 25, 2018 Q&A: Brian Terra
Q&A: Witman Hernandez
October 18, 2018 Q&A: Witman Hernandez
Q&A: Sam Mendelsohn
October 11, 2018 Q&A: Sam Mendelsohn
Q&A: Jess Gibaldi
October 4, 2018 Q&A: Jess Gibaldi
SUNYAC Q&A: Mikayla Johnson
September 27, 2018 SUNYAC Q&A: Mikayla Johnson
SUNYAC Q&A: Brooke Falsion
September 20, 2018 SUNYAC Q&A: Brooke Falsion
SUNYAC Q&A: Van Pelt
September 13, 2018 SUNYAC Q&A: Van Pelt
SUNYAC set for 2018-19
August 13, 2018 SUNYAC set for 2018-19