Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Geneseo Men Take 21st Overall SUNYAC Swimming and Diving Title


Geneseo men captured the State University of New York Athletic Conference (SUNYAC) Men's Swimming and Diving Championship Title for the 21st  time overall and 15th time in the past 16 years. Geneseo finished with 848 points. Fredonia finished second in the team standings with 497 points followed by Oneonta with 492 points. Over the course of the three days there were five meet records and four conference records broken on the men's side of competition.

Geneseo junior John Nasky was name SUNYAC Men's Outstanding Swimmer as voted on by the conference coaches. Freshman Jeff Matter from Fredonia was honored with the SUNYAC Men's Outstanding Diver award after capturing the most points on the board in the Championship meet. Fredonia's John Estanislau was awarded the James Fulton Award for his overall excellence and involvement in academics, athletics and the community. Paul Dotterweich was named the SUNYAC Men's Coach of the Year after his team captured the SUNYAC team title.

Two-time defending Champion John Nasky (Geneseo) broke the SUNYAC meet and conference record and an NCAA “B” cut time in the men's 1650 free in 15:42.66. Nasky was followed by New Paltz's Jack Spader (16:28.92) and Oswego's Andrew Minnick (16:39.75).

Geneseo's Kristian Tialios took home his first 200 yard backstroke championship after he touched the wall in 1:51.65. Colton Roe (Oneonta) and Kevin Schaub (Geneseo) were second and third with times of 1:52.11 and 1:53.99 respectively.

In a tight race Cortland's Reeve Callen won the 100 yard free in 46.58 followed by Kenny Athans, 46.75 (Geneseo) and John Estanislau 46.86 (Fredonia).

Fredonia's Adam Clouthier won his first SUNYAC 200 yard breastroke gold in 2:07.28. Cortlands Adam Opsahl was second (2:07.32) and Jack Jakubek third (2:07.34).

Yonghoon Jun (Geneseo) touched the wall over two second ahead of his competition to capture the 200 yard butterfly crown in 1:53.21. Lucas Santiago from Oneonta was second (1:55.54) and Any Schunk from Geneseo finished third (1:56.92).

Geneseo took the 400 yard free relay and broke the SUNYAC meet and conference records in a time of 3:06.14. Fredonia was second followed by Cortland.
SUNYAC Men's Swimming and Diving All-Conference Teams
(First place finishers are placed on the first team, second and third place finishers are placed on the second team)

First Team
John Nasky, Geneseo                500 free, 1650 free
Kenny Athans, Geneseo             200 IM, 400 IM, 100 free
John Estanislau, Fredonia          50 free, 100 free
Alec Fleet, Buffalo State              1 meter dive, 3 meter dive
Tyler Zapisek, Potsdam             100 fly, 50 free
Reeve Callen, Cortland              200 free, 100 free
Jack Jakubek, Cortland              100 breast, 200 breast
Colton Roe, Oneonta                100 back, 200 back
Kristian Tialios, Geneseo         200 IM, 100 back, 200 back
Adam Clouthier, Fredonia         200 breast, 100 breast
Yonghoon Jun, Geneseo          100 fly, 200 fly
Jeff Matter, Fredonia                 1 meter dive, 3 meter dive
Second Team
Mark Hanifin, Cortland             500 free, 200 free
Jack Spader, New Paltz              500 free, 1650 free
Lucas Santiago                         200 IM, 400 IM
Tyler Roth, Geneseo                 50 yard free
Jermaine Miller, Oneonta          1 meter dive, 3 meter dive
Bryan Schaub, Geneseo            400 IM
Andy Schunk, Geneseo             100 fly, 200 fly
Adrian Van Hall, Fredonia          200 free
Richard Zimmerman, Potsdam  100 breast
Eric Jordan, Fredonia                 100 back
Andrew Minnick, Oswego         1650 free
Kevin Schaub, Geneseo           200 back
Adam Opsahl, Cortland           200 breast
Lucas Santiago, Oneonta          200 fly
Outstanding Swimmer John Nasky, Geneseo
Outstanding Diver Jeff Matter, Fredonia
James Fulton Award John Estanislau, Fredonia       
Coach of the Year Paul Dotterweich, Geneseo

Final Team Standings
1 Geneseo         848
2 Fredonia        497
3 Oneonta        492
4 Cortland        488
5 Oswego         319
6 New Paltz      275
7 Potsdam        266
8 Brockport      198
9 Buffalo State 165