Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Brockport crowned as 2019 Women's Lacrosse conference champions

Brockport crowned as 2019 Women's Lacrosse conference champions

Information in this story comes courtesy of the Brockport Sports Information Department

GENESEO, N.Y. - The Brockport women's lacrosse team made history on the field at Geneseo Saturday afternoon, defeating the Knights to earn the program's first SUNYAC title in school history. After overcoming Cortland in a 17-12 victory Friday, the Golden Eagles got off to a strong start early on and never looked back, handing top-seeded Geneseo a 13-4 loss. Brockport's championship win grants them automatic entry into the NCAA Division III Tournament.

Brockport got on the board first as Heather Conklin buried opening tally, but Geneseo responded nearly ten minutes later to even the score. Brockport's offense began to heat up, as the Golden Eagles scored five goals in a row to pull away from the Knights.

Jade Williams pulled a natural hat trick to put the Golden Eagles up, 4-1 with assists from Sara Grapevine and Conklin. Chloe Kurst made it four unanswered goals, followed by Victoria Thompson to extend the lead to five.

Geneseo picked up a goal on a free position opportunity with thirty seconds remaining in the half, but Brockport stormed down the field to get the last goal of the frame. Allison Jennings proceeded to send the Golden Eagles into the half-time break leading, 7-2.

The second-half was all Brockport as they scored six goals in a row to put the game out of reach. Thompson found the back of the net first, followed by Conklin with two, Grapevine, Jennings, and Julie Carballo. The Knights banged in two scores to end the game but it was too little, too late for the comeback.

Box Score

Elite 20

The SUNYAC Elite 20, an award modeled after the NCAA ELITE 90 program, recognizes the true essence of the student-athlete by honoring the individual who has reached the pinnacle of competition at the conference championship level in his or her sport, while also achieving the highest academic standard among his or her peers. This year's women's lacrosse honoree is Jordynn Aiello, a junior from Cortland majoring in psychology.

2019 Women's Lacrosse All-Tournament Team

Cortland - Carly Stone

Oswego - Danielle Walker

Geneseo - Tessa Doody

Geneseo - Megan Henderson

Geneseo -Mallory Max

Geneseo - Hannah Marafioti

Brockport - Chloe Kurst

Brockport - Nikki Nolan

Brockport - Jade Williams

Brockport - Victoria Thompson

Brockport - Morgan Elmer

Brockport - Heather Conklin (MVP)

Review and Preview
July 8, 2019 Review and Preview
Q&A: Lexie Meager
May 2, 2019 Q&A: Lexie Meager
Q&A: Hannah Marafioti
April 25, 2019 Q&A: Hannah Marafioti
Q&A: Cayla O'Connor
April 8, 2019 Q&A: Cayla O'Connor